Book turned into a Film

Hello there.! How are you? I am good(almost). I watched this film called The Lovely Bones directed by Peter Jackson. The film is based on a book with the same name by Alice Sebold. It’s about a 14 year old girl who’s been raped and murdered by her neighbor. It’s a sad tragic story which is so beautifully told. I have read the book and now watched the film as well.

The story behind the book is just as heartbreaking yet strong Lovely_Bones_coverand optimistic. The writer herself has been through similar incident, fortunately she wasn’t murdered. The responsible man was convicted. She had wrote about the whole incident as fictionalized version of her rape and time after it for her 10 page assignment for class. And gradually it turned into this book, The Lovely Bones. I was scared, really scared while reading the book and watching the film. Horror films, ghosts, blood sucking vampires, flesh eating zombies, demons and witches doesn’t scare me but this kind of people who can harm other living person scares me. It was horrifying, confusing, scary yet it was a beautiful film. I don’t understand how it can be so horrible yet so beautiful. But then again healing is just the same. Scary yet beautiful. Ugly scares being covered by new cells of skin, Torn flesh healing and getting stronger. Broken bones rejoining and healing. All of this is scary yet it’s beautiful.

Right now my mind is saying so many things all together which I can write down. I want to write down but I’m unable to. I can’t form sentences and I can’t find words to describe my thoughts. I don’t know how to conclude my post. I need to conclude it. So I’m just going to say it’s a must watch if you like dark drama, fantasy. If you’re emotional person who cries a lot in movies just skip it. You’ll cry a lot while watching it. Take care of yourselves.

TUDles..! ❤

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Tessa says:

    I read the book, I cried and I will not watch the film. The book was enough for me. Once through the sadness, that was enough for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea, It’s really sad. I had to take some breaks in between the film and just eat something and get myself together before I continue with the film. It’s beautifully heartbreaking piece of art.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. gh0stpupp3t says:

    I loved the book… never saw the film however.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The film is beautifully made.

      Like

    2. gh0stpupp3t says:

      I would love to see it. 🙂

      Like

    3. I watched it on YouTube. You can see if it’s still available.

      Like

  3. Looks like an interesting movie(and book). I am adding it to my list. Nice write-up. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It is. Totally heartbreaking yet beautiful. =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

